Was my university worth it?

So, after spending three years as a university student, I wonder, was it worth it? I spent my first year living in a boiling student flat, becoming a heated mess that couldn’t function in the outside world. Then, a spider infected accommodation where every creak of the floorboard sent me flailing into the air. Lastly, a mouldy run down house that seemed to be falling down with every gust of the wind. After these varying accommodations, I  believe I have truly experienced, the student life. Three years of being trapped by myself, whilst blubbering to my parents on a too bright screen in the middle of the night, isolated because of my introverted personality. Was it really worth it? If we’re not talking about money, then yes, for so many reasons I have grown because of this experience. I am stronger, mentally pushed until I’ve gained hardened skin and a strong, confident personality, as well as physically managing my energy levels and time in a productive fashion. However, if we’re talking money… absolutely not. After just having to fork out over a hundred pounds, just to rent a graduation gown and two tickets for my parents, I seriously wonder where all my money went. For the rest of my life, I will be in around forty thousand pounds of debt,  and yet, my university couldn’t afford to have their own set of robes for me wear for a single hour? Being immersed in a big city was amazing, as well as being surrounded by people my age loving the same things I do… yet wouldn’t working or being an internship have done the exact same… Without the hefty price tag?

 

 

Total

Leave a Reply

