I am lost in a dark that shudders

I sit alone in the dark.
Perhaps once there were others,
Faintly I remember their heat
The warmth of my long-lost brothers.

I sit alone in the dark.
My body has frozen into the walls,
Limbs unmoving my eyelashes barely twitch
I listen intently for their calls.

I sit alone in the dark.
I know that it isn’t safe here,
The darkness is not silent as it shudders along
And I remember intently that I must disappear.

I sit alone in the dark.
It shivers with an unquenchable thirst,
I feel its tongue​ taste my skin
I can only speculate​ that I have been cursed.
Lost in the dark that moves.

Imaginary

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

